Image Building

Where do I even begin with this one? I just have to say one thing before I spill my heart out. I like to look nice, get my hair done with the latest style, dress with the current fashions, etc. I’m not saying don’t spend time on grooming yourself or that you shouldn’t dress nice. What I am saying is we women have become obsessed with our images.
When it comes to our appearances as women the world sets a pretty high bar on what’s considered beautiful. It’s a sale’s gimmick. Our flaws have been made out to be their platform on which they sell their products/services. Let’s take breast augmentation for example.
To promote products and services for “image building” companies must also set a higher than usual standard on beauty. The companies are not going to come right out and say, “small breast are so yesterday,bigger is better.” But that indeed is what they are saying as well as bigger is not just better but more beautiful.” These companies use the women that fell hook, line and sinker for their spiel, by using them to share their stories. In doing so other women that watch the advertisement will feel their own inadequacies and follow suit. Women influence other women, period! Are we going to let the world continue to tell us what is beautiful? Or are we going to tell the world we are already beautiful the way the Lord made us?
A big point I’m trying to make here is you are beautiful the way you are. No need for plastic to replace unique and real. Don’t get me wrong, if your eyebrows need waxed or tweezed, please do so there is no need for the uni-brow or caterpillars crawling across your face, Amen? Just don’t go to extremes that give a temporary fix for the inadequacies you feel. Something else to consider- Maybe it’s just me but if a company has to subject a person to feeling less than beautiful the way they are to sell their product, then something tells me maybe, just maybe, it won’t be good for me in the long run. And it’s true in the end it leaves you feeling worse than when you started.

Leave a Reply

